TIPRO News Releases and Statements

TIPRO Announces Winners of 2014 Texas Top Producers Awards Oil and Gas Industry Executives Honored at 3rd Annual Gala

Austin, TX – The Texas Independent Producers & Royalty Owners Association (TIPRO) is pleased to announce the finalists and winners of the 2014 Texas Top Producers awards. Altogether, eighty-eight finalists were honored at the Petroleum Club of Houston for the 3rd annual Texas Top Producers banquet last evening, followed by the announcement of the top five winners across four disciplines of Best CEOs, Best Landmen, Best Geoscientists and Best Engineers. 

In 2012, TIPRO partnered with the publishers of Texas Monthly magazine to establish the Texas Top Producers awards program in order to build awareness for the unprecedented economic contributions of the Texas oil and gas industry and recognize the individuals that have directly contributed to its success. Additional supporting organizations for TIPRO's Texas Top Producers awards include the American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL) and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG). 

"Texas Top Producers is one of many TIPRO initiatives designed to promote the oil and gas industry and encourage a policy environment that supports the responsible exploration and production of natural resources in our state," said Ed Longanecker, president of TIPRO. "The impact and importance of our industry is unmatched, and the professionals that have contributed directly to its success deserve greater recognition." 

Special appreciation was also given to the Best CEO-presenting sponsor for the 2014 awards program, DrillingInfo Inc, and their founder, chairman and CEO Allen Gilmer, who provided the evening's keynote address. Gilmer praised the contributions of the honorees and emphasized how their work has led to an energy renaissance in America. 

"The Texas oil and gas industry continues to lead the country in employment, production, growth and leadership from a regulatory standpoint," said Raymond James Welder III, chairman of TIPRO. "The 2014 Texas Top Producers honorees are among the best in their respective disciplines from the more than 400,000 individuals directly employed by the Texas oil and gas industry." 

In addition to being recognized before a sold-out crowd, the 2014 finalists are also featured in the November 2014 edition of Texas Monthly magazine. The winners of Texas Top Producers will also be featured in the January issue of Texas Monthly. 

The 2014 award winners were chosen by a committee comprised of past winners, industry and association executives following an extensive open nominations process. Additional details regarding Texas Top Producers, including award criteria, and full list of the 2014 finalists, can be found on TIPRO's website at www.tipro.org.  

The following are the winners of the 2014 Texas Top Producers Awards in alphabetical order by last name:

Best CEOs - Large 
Dan Dinges, Cabot Oil & Gas Corporation 
Jonny Jones, Jones Energy, Inc. 
John Richels, Devon Energy Corporation 
Scott Sheffield, Pioneer Natural Resources Company 
William Thomas, EOG Resources, Inc. 

Best CEOs - Medium
Pat Bolin, Eagle Oil & Gas Co.
Kyle Hammond, Firewheel Energy, LLC
Michael Harvey, Stonegate Production, LLC
Michael Reddin, Davis Petroleum Corporation
Barry Winstead, Forge Energy, LLC

Best CEOs – Small
Scott Garrick, Venado Oil & Gas, LLC
Scott Hines, Aurora Resources Corporation
John Hoffman, Black Elk Energy, LLC
Anthony Schnur, Lucas Energy, Inc.
Tom Schoonover, Texas Royalty Corporation

Best Landmen
James Holcomb, Colt Exploration Co., Inc.
Jim McGowen, McGowen & Fowler & MCGR Operating Company, Inc.
David Nolen, Alliance Land Services & OGR Energy Corporation
William Porter, McClure Oil Company, Inc.
Roger Soape, Roger A. Soape, Inc.

Best Engineers 
Michael Bose, Apache Corporation
Greg Leyendecker, SM Energy Company
Steven Lindeman, Cabot Oil & Gas Corporation
Tai Pham, EOG Resources, Inc.
John Whitehead, Laredo Petroleum, Inc. 

Best Geoscientists
Steve Brachman, Wapiti Energy, LLC
Doug Hazlett, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation
Lloyd Helms Jr., EOG Resources, Inc.
Walt Hufford, Talisman Energy, Inc.
William Keller, EnerVest, Ltd.

U.S. Oil and Gas Industry Employment Increases 3.4...
TIPRO Releases Second Annual “State of Energy Repo...